Country Idealist Profiles

Northern Territory – Post-Secondary Education Structure

In Australia, higher education is the sector that offers university-level education at degree-level and above. The Commonwealth and State and Territory governments share responsibility for the sector. In the Australian Qualifications Framework (AQF), higher education courses are those leading to the award of associate degree, bachelor’s degree, graduate certificate, graduate diploma, master’s degree or doctoral degree. Some courses leading to the award of a diploma or advanced diploma may also be accredited as higher education.  Almost all higher education in Australia is offered by universities. A small but growing number of non-university providers and overseas institutions also offer accredited higher education courses.

The Northern Territory has one university. Northern Territory University (now called Charles Darwin University) enrolled its first student in 1987. In 2006, Charles Darwin University had about 19,000 students enrolled: about 5,500 higher education students and about 13,500 VET students. The first tertiary institution in the territory, established in the 1960s, was the Batchelor Institute of Indigenous Tertiary Education.

Registered Training Organizations (RTOs) also provide post-secondary education in the Northern Territory.  RTOs are authorized to provide specific nationally recognised Vocational Education and Training (VET) products and services



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: