Country Idealist Profiles

Victoria (Aus) – State structure

Posted in Australia, Victoria (Australia), Victoria (Australia) - Basics by blopote on August 13, 2008

There are 79 Local Government Areas in Victoria. LGA’s are constituted as cities, shires, rural cities and, in one case, a borough.

Shire and city councils are responsible for functions delegated by the Victorian parliament, such as city planning, road infrastructure and waste management. Council revenue comes mostly from property taxes and government grants.

(Source: Victorian Parliamentary Library, Department of Victorian Communities, Australian Electoral Commission).

Municipalities of Greater Melbourne: City of Banyule, City of Bayside, City of Boroondara, City of Brimbank, Shire of Cardinia, City of Casey, City of Darebin, City of Frankston, City of Glen Eira, City of Greater Dandenong, City of Hobsons Bay, City of Hum, City of Kingston, City of Knox, City of Manningham, City of Maribyrnong, City of Maroondah, City of Melbourne, Shire of Melton, City of Monash, City of Moonee Valley, City of Moreland, Shire of Mornington Peninsula, Shire of Nillumbik, City of Port Phillip, City of Stonningto, City of Whitehors, City of Whittlesea, City of Wyndham, City of Yarra, Shire of Yarra Ranges.

Regional Cities: Rural City of Ararat, City of Ballarat, City of Greater Bendigo, Rural City of Benalla, City of Grater Geelong, City of Greater Shepparton, Rural City of Horsham, City of Latrobe, Rural City of Mildura, Rural City of Swan Hill, Rural City of Wangaratta, City of Warrnambool, City of Wodonga.

Rural Shires: Alpine Shire, Bass Coast Shire, Shire of Baw Baw, Shire of Buloke, Shire of Campaspe, Shire of Central Goldfields, Colac Otway Shire, Corangamite Shire, Shire of East Gippsland, Shire of Gannawarra, Shire of Glenelg, Golden Plains Shire, Shire of Hepburn, Shire of Hindmarsh, Shire of Indigo, Shire of Loddon, Shire of Macedon Ranges, Shire of Mansfield, Shire of Mitchell, Shire of Moira, Shire of Moorabool, Shire of Mount Alexander, Shire of Moyne, Shire of Murrindindi, Shire of Northern Grampians, Shire of Pyrenees, South Gippsland Shire, Shire of Southern Grampians, Shire of Strathbogie, Surf Coast Shire, Shire of Towong, Shire of Wellington, Shire of West Wimmera, Shire of Yarriambiack.

Other: Borough of Queenscliffe.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: