Country Idealist Profiles

South Australia – Legal system

Posted in Australia, South Australia, South Australia Basics by belenu on July 25, 2008


The District Court is the principal trial court in South Australia.

Its work is developed in four areas: Civil, Criminal, Administrative and Disciplinary, and Criminal Injuries.

The Court sits in Adelaide and conducts civil circuits regularly at Mount Gambier and at Berri, Port Pirie, Whyalla and Port Lincoln as required.

The Chief Judge is the principal judicial officer and is responsible for its administration. There are 19 judges who preside over all of the divisions of the Court, and three masters who conduct hearings in the Civil, Criminal Injuries and Administrative and Disciplinary Divisions

Further information in


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: