Country Idealist Profiles

Ireland Government – Executive Powers

Posted in Ireland, Ireland - Government by hynesbrid on July 22, 2008

Under the Constitution, the executive power of the State is exercised by the Government.

The Taoiseach (Prime Minister) is the head of the Irish Government.  He or she is nominated by the Dáil (the House of Representatives of the Irish Parliament) and formally appointed by the Irish President. Normally, each of the political parties or a coalition of parties will have its own nominee for Taoiseach. The nominee who has the support of the majority of the members of the Dáil will become Taoiseach.  The Taoiseach then nominates the Tánaiste (Deputy Prime Minister) and the other members of the Government and gives each of them a Department of State.  They are approved by the Dáil and appointed by the President.  Article 28 of Bunreacht na hEireann (the Irish Constitution) sets out the composition of Government in Ireland. The constitution states that the Government must not be smaller than 7 members and not larger than 15 members. There are currently 15 Department of States with Ministerial posts attached as follows:



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: